Kurtis Harms
Director of Communications
Nebraska Corn Board

Nebraska Corn Leaders Chrisp and Hunnicutt Elected to National Corn Leadership Roles

LINCOLN, Neb. – Two Nebraska corn farmers will represent our nation’s corn industry in leadership roles within the National Corn Growers Association (NCGA).

Lynn Chrisp, a farmer from Hastings, Nebraska, was ratified as the First Vice President of NCGA. Chrisp manages a corn and soybean farm and is actively involved in agricultural leadership roles both locally and nationally.

“As it is for many farmers, growing corn is my way of life,” said Chrisp. “Unfortunately, there are increasing obstacles that make our livelihoods difficult. I’m committed to doing all I can to further promote the work of our farmers and interact with policy makers on the local, state and national levels to enhance and expand our corn industry.”

Prior to this role, which will begin October 1, 2017, Chrisp served the nation’s corn farmers through local and national leadership positions. He’s worked with NCGA through various action teams and locally serves as a director on the Nebraska Corn Growers Association.

Brandon Hunnicutt, a farmer from Giltner, Nebraska, was elected to NCGA’s Corn Board. This 15-person board serves on behalf of U.S. corn farmers to carry out the mission of NCGA, which is to “create and increase opportunities for corn growers.”

“Corn is an incredibly versatile crop, which I’ve been growing for a very long time,” said Hunnicutt. “I understand the challenges farmers face. It’s my goal to help in the challenges to ensure we have a sustainable corn industry for future generations. I also understand more consumers are increasingly removed from the farm, so it’s essential we work with them to help them understand modern agriculture and how food is safely produced.”

Hunnicutt will also begin his new role with NCGA on October 1, 2017. He currently serves as a director on both the Nebraska Corn Board and Nebraska Corn Growers Association. Additionally, Hunnicutt is involved in in roles with the U.S. Grains Council and the National Corn Growers Association.

“I’ve worked with both Brandon and Lynn through Nebraska’s corn checkoff and membership association organizations,” said Kelly Brunkhorst, executive director of the Nebraska Corn Board and Nebraska Corn Growers Association. “Both are tremendously dedicated to the betterment and advancement of the corn industry, and I look forward to seeing the good things to come under their leadership.”

The elections took place July 19, 2017 during NCGA’s Corn Congress in Washington D.C. The multi-day Corn Congress is focused on shaping policy for NCGA. Corn farmer delegates from across the country participated in the discussions.


The Nebraska Corn Board is a state funded agency funded through a ½-cent-per-bushel checkoff on all corn marketed in the state. The mission of the Nebraska Corn Board is to promote the value of corn by creating opportunities. Checkoff funds are invested in programs of market development, research, promotion and education.

The Nebraska Corn Board is made up of nine farmer directors who serve three-year terms. Eight members represent specific Nebraska districts and are appointed by the Governor of Nebraska. The Board elects a ninth “at large” member.