The Nebraska Corn Growers Association is pleased to announce the winners of the 2021 Future Leaders in Agriculture Scholarship Program (FLAGship Program). After reviewing the applications and much deliberation, the NeCGA Grower Services Committee chose five applicants to each receive a $2,000 scholarship. The awardees are listed below, along with their intended secondary school and degree program:

Blaine Bonifas, Aurora (UNL, Agronomy)
Jason Kettelhake, Tecumseh (Concordia University, Agribusiness)
Ellen Wanek, Aurora (UNL, Pre-Vet)
Gage Groeteke, Primrose (UNL, Political Science)
Cassandra Pieper, Howells (Wayne State College, Pre-Medicine)

To be eligible for this scholarship, students must be a member of the Nebraska Corn Growers Association or the son/daughter of an NeCGA member. They must be a senior in high school or college freshman who is continuing their education in Nebraska. Three of the five scholarships are set aside for students who are pursuing a degree in an agriculture related field. Two scholarships are open to students pursuing a degree outside of agriculture.

“I want to congratulate each student who was chosen to receive a scholarship. The applications this year were impressive and choosing only five was difficult. We hope that this scholarship is a bright spot in what was a challenging year for students across the state. We are excited to see how these young people advocate for agriculture in the future,” said Michael Dibbern, chairman of the Grower Services Committee.

For more information about the Future Leaders in Agriculture Scholarship Program, please click here or call (402) 438-6459.