For more information contact:
Morgan Wrich, Nebraska Corn Growers Association | (402) 438-6459

Nebraska Corn Growers Association Announces Winners of 2018 FLAGship Program

Lincoln, NE – The Nebraska Corn Growers Association is pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 Future Leaders in Agriculture Scholarship Program (FLAGship Program). After reviewing the applications and much deliberation, the Grower Services Committee decided on five applicants to receive the $2,000 scholarships. The awardees are:

Alice McDonald, Phillips
Leyton Herrick, Franklin
Felicia Knoerzer, Elwood
Grant Bonifas, Aurora
Maggie Vyhnalek, Friend

To be eligible for this scholarship, students must be a member of the Nebraska Corn Growers Association or the son/daughter of a NeCGA member. They must be a senior in high school or college freshman who is continuing their education in an agricultural related field.

“The applications we receive for the FLAGship Program continue to impress me. Each year seems to bring out the best and brightest of the future of agriculture in Nebraska. We are excited to see where these young people take our industry,” said Dan Nerud, Chairman of the Grower Services Committee and Vice President of NeCGA.

For more information about the Nebraska Corn Growers Association and the Future Leaders in Agriculture Scholarship Program, please visit or call (402) 438-6459.

The Nebraska Corn Growers Association is a grassroots commodity organization whose mission is to create and increase opportunities for Nebraska  corn farmers through advocacy, education, partnerships and leadership development. This scholarship is intended to form a solid base for the next generation of ag leaders.